top of page

The Infrastructure’s Guide ☆ 19

Updated: Oct 30, 2021


When Zhong Yang arrived at the beast's forest, he was taken aback by the devastation. The dried, dead leaves on the ground were covered in blood, and two sharp-boned monsters, who had smashed down a few trees, were now lying motionless on the ground.

He could still hear the neighing of wild beasts in the distance and smell the faint scent of grass and trees that lingered behind. Zhong Yang guessed that Meng Sheng was most likely in the forest and dashed to the location where the beast was making a racket. However, by the time he found the beast's trail, the beast that had been howling had stopped, and he didn't see Meng Sheng anywhere.

He was about to call out when he heard a twig break behind him. Turning around, he saw Meng Sheng seated on a dead beast, gnawing raw meat, and an alive beast coming up behind him.

Meng Sheng did not lift his head when he heard the sound. He licked the fishy blood off the corner of his lips and slowly ate the meat in his hand.

When the ferocious beast lunged at him, he easily caught it.

After eating the meat, his body got hotter and his breath became stronger, therefore he grabbed another beast, and so on, until the meat of the third beast was in his mouth, and he was still not exhausted at all. Instead, he was full of power.

"Meng Sheng, have you gone mad?"

Zhong Yang dashed over to him and halted when he noticed Meng Sheng's expression. A male covered in blood with red eyes and a hostile demeanor. He didn't expect such vicious behavior from a man who loved to gather wild herbs and fruits and had the patience to raise pheasants.

Meng Sheng wiped his face with the back of his palm. There was blood on his hands as well, which made his face look much more gorey.

"There's enough meat for the entire tribe."

Zhong Yang hesitated for a moment, but just for a moment, and then grinned in relief.

"You finally listened to what I said? You've decided to fight for the chief's position?"

Meng Sheng snorted, "You overthink things; I was serious when I said I don't want to be the chief; I didn't want to be one before, I don't want to be one now, and I won't want to be one in the future."

"Meng Sheng, what the heck are you thinking? You came here to hunt beasts and share them with everyone, and now you claim you don't want to be a chief while boosting your prestige?"

"No, you're wrong on one thing. I am attempting to establish prestige, and with prestige, no one will think I'm useless."

"Who said you're useless?" asked Zhong Yang as he sat down next to him. "Aren't you exaggerating? Is it due to the two Tang brothers?"

"I don't give a damn what they say."

"Then what's the matter with you?" Zhong Yang asked, poking Meng Sheng's head. "I came to your cave today to tell you good news."

Meng Sheng was indifferent: "What is it?"

"I received word from my father that the deputy chief and he had agreed to free Qiu Juan from his association with Kong Jia." Zhong Yang wiggled his eyebrows and ignoring the fact that Meng Sheng was covered in blood, he grabbed him by the shoulders. "I told father that you would help me at the next meal, and urged him to deliver the news while the majority of the tribe was there, so that when they were freed, you could be with Qiu Juan."

"With Qiu Juan...... When did I mention that I like him?" Meng Sheng shook his head, his bloodshot eyes drooping.

Zhong Yang was perplexed by his abrupt rhetorical question.: "Do you mean you don't like Qiu Juan? So, why are you being so friendly to him? You shouldn't be seducing him if you don't like him."

Meng Sheng laughed, asking, "When did I seduce him?"

"Don't try to deny it! I had planned to go looking for you the day the sky cleared up, but as I arrived at the cave entrance, I saw Qiu Juan emerge from your cave, his face as red as a cherry." Zhong Yang hammered his fist. "Don't tell me you haven't seduced someone. Don't assume that since Qiu Juan has been with Kong Jia, you can do whatever you want with him and yet refuse to admit it."

Meng Sheng didn't rush to refute. "Makes sense."

"So, do you like Qiu Juan?"

Meng Sheng abruptly rose to his feet. Initially, he was just enamored with his fair complexion, and the fact that he and him were neighbors. He had always told himself that it wasn't affection, but only a wish to care for a strong young guy, but the close contact had gradually gotten him accustomed to having him around.

As he returned his gaze to Zhong Yang, he answered confidently, "Yes, I like him."

Zhong Yang stood up with him: "That's what a strong male should look like!"

"It's just that Qiu Juan isn't fond of me." Meng Sheng swallowed a pathetic laugh.

Zhong Yang shook his head, astounded: "What makes you think he doesn't like you? If I were a female or a sub-female, I'd want a male like you."

When Meng Sheng didn't say anything, he added, "Have you told Qiu Juan that you like him?"

"No."

"How do you know he doesn't like you if you didn't tell him?" Zhong Yang continued louder. "Although I don't know anything about feelings, I'm all about direct words."

Meng Sheng appeared to be jolted awake. "You have a valid point! When he and Kong Jjia's union is formally dissolved, I'll ask him if he wishes to be with me.

Zhong Yang fiercely nodded.

Meng Sheng: "Then take these preys to your cave first; they will be divided in a few days; remember, when the chief asks, you must say that you and I hunted them together."

"Wait, I didn't help! Why should I say that?" Zhong Yang questioned.

"By doing so, you can gain greater status, and then you can overcome the two Tang brothers and Kong Jia and take over as chief."

"But…. I can't take advantage of you."

Meng Sheng patted Zhong Yang's shoulder: "Friend, if you become chief, I may be a priest if I wish. I'm supporting you not just for your sake, but also for mine."

Zhong Yang briefly paused and then extended his hand. "Okay, if I can become the chief, I promise you that the first thing I will do when I become the chief is to declare you as a priest."

Meng Sheng took his hand, "It's a deal!"

They came to an arrangement, so they returned together with a beast on their backs.

"I've always questioned why even the deputy chief is involved in such a minor thing as a mate's separation." As he walked along the road, Zhong Yang expressed his doubts.

"It's not unexpected that if Qiu Juan and Kong Jia are separated, each of them may find a partner again, and females who are interested in Kong Jia will be able to be open with him."

"Do you mean Tang Tong likes Kong Jia?"

Meng Sheng didn't specify: "Maybe."

The Tang family and Kong Jia were both equally bad, therefore letting one or other to advance, would be bad.

To avoid unwanted attention, they made a detour through more secluded roads.

When they arrived at the large clearing outside the chief's cave, a female with a slender back was drying her skins.

Zhong Yang was delighted to see her and exclaimed, "Sister!"

As soon as Zhong Kui heard her brother's voice, she turned.

She didn't have Tong's stunning face, but she did have a soft one. Zhong Kui was the type of female who was exceedingly nice and compassionate.

"You're back so soon?" When Zhong Kui noticed the other male next to her brother and the large beast on both of their shoulders, she called out into the cave. "Mother, Father, Ayang is back."

When the two elders emerged from the cave, Meng Sheng and Zhong Yang had already placed the beast on the ground.

Meng Sheng had barely set down the beast when a shell the size of a foot-basin was placed next to him, filled with water.

Zhong Kui said softly. "Wash up. You are Meng Sheng, right? I often hear Ayang mention you. This is the first time I see you."

In the water-filled shell, there was a round thing. It looked like a loofah. He picked it up and wiped his face with it. It felt strange against his skin, yet it was more pleasant than having blood on his body.

"Thank you."

"Meng Sheng, here is my sister Zhong Kui; she didn't take part in the meal the previous time you came, so you haven't seen her yet," Zhong Yang introduced.

Meng Sheng nodded and said to Zhong Kui, "Nice to meet you."

The enormous beasts laying on the ground astonished the two elders, Zhong Xin and his partner. They had to be around the same size as the previously praised Ewing.

"Ah Yang, did you hunt all of these?"

Meng Sheng and Zhong Yang exchanged glances.

"Yes, father, Meng Sheng and I hunted this in the Beast Forest. Not just these two, but also one that we did not bring back."

"Okay! Very excellent; there are two of you in the tribe, so I can rest assured. To hunt three beasts at once. Such bravery was displayed by the Lin tribe's first generation chiefs more than a century ago. The first generation chiefs led our people here. After so many generations we can still keep them proud.

Knowing that his father was pleased, Zhong Yang said, "I'll go and get the remainder of the game. Meng Sheng, wait here. You last time agreed to eat in my cave, so don't wimp out this time."

Zhong Kui echoed Zhong Yang, "Yes, I heard from Yang that you are skilled at cooking; why don't you stay and teach me?"

The Chief, still amazed by the wild beasts size, narrated in the background stories of the heroic history of the forest tribe's founder. Hearing his children's chat, he abruptly stopped his story and actively supported his son and daughter's proposal., "Meng Sheng, you stay and eat."

"Meng Sheng, you stay and eat."

Even the chief spoke up, and Meng Sheng couldn't resist the family's enthusiasm, so he agreed.

"Sure."



2,262 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page